The Catholic Parishes of Barking & Ilford Lane, Diocese of Brentwood, Reg. Charity No. 234092

Alliance of Pro-Life Students

Press release - 6TH November 2013

On Tuesday evening, the Alliance of Pro-Life Students hosted an event in Parliament where pro-life politicians, students and recent graduates from across Britain had the chance to connect. In conjunction with APS' mission and vision this was an excellent opportunity for pro-life students to support each other and to exchange ideas about how best to promote a positive pro-life ethic on campus. The university age bracket has one of the highest abortion rates within the demographic (ONS 2012) making campus pro-life work all the more vital.

With the All Party Pro-Life Group (APPLG) kindly providing the Jubilee Room in the Palace of Westminster, and, having just launched APS membership, this was the perfect opportunity for APS' members to meet each other in person. The organisation's young leaders gave short but stirring speeches: Eve Farren (Executive Director) discussed the future of APS and the importance of free speech on campus; Ed Smith (Chairman of the Board of Directors) talked about concrete ways that students can get involved with the organisation; and Isaac Spencer (President of Cardiff Students for Life) reflected on the need for APS, from a student leader's perspective. In addition, Lord David Alton and Fiona Bruce MP inspired the assembled students by encouraging them to actively defend life, in speeches given on behalf of APPLG. Nine politicians attended in total including Jim Dobbin MP, Jeremy Lefroy MP, Mary Glindon MP, John Glen MP, David Amess MP, Baroness Butler-Sloss and Rob Flello MP.

Through the friendships and contacts made at the event, APS has laid a firm foundation for the longevity and continued growth of the pro-life movement in British universities for years to come.

Eve Farren, Executive Director, Alliance of Pro-Life Students


From left to right: Maria Stopyra (Treasurer, APS), Philip Campbell (Secretary, APS), Lord David Alton, Alithea Williams (Vice-Chair, APS), Eve Farren (Executive Director, APS) and Ed Smith (Chairman, APS).